Patrick Mouratoglou acknowledged coaching during the match, which is a rules violation. Ramos saw it and issued Williams the first of three code violations she received in her 6-2, 6-4 loss to Naomi Osaka.
View this post on Instagram
#SerenaWilliams was penalized a game for calling the chair umpire a thief during an extended argument as the #USOpen women’s final descended into chaos, with fans booing and play delayed before #NaomiOsaka wrapped up a 6-2, 6-4 victory for her first Grand Slam title in #NewYork. #africacablenetwork #sport
Williams reacted angrily, telling Ramos she doesn’t cheat. The ensuing penalties would first cost her a point, and then a game.
Mouratoglou says that “in 99 percent of the cases, he would have told Serena, ‘I’ve seen your coach do a movement and tell him to stop, otherwise you’ll have a warning. And I don’t understand why he didn’t do that, where all the other chair umpires do this all year long, including him.’”